Research Committee 


To serve as an engine of CEWIL Canada in the development and execution of its strategic vision by:

  • developing and supporting a community of Canadian CEWIL researchers,
  • coordinating the national CEWIL research agenda through connections provincially, nationally and internationally,
  • serving as a resource hub for CEWIL research and researchers,
  • providing evidence-based research to inform Board and committee decisions for the CEWIL community, and
  • increasing the profile of CEWIL research through a variety of communication channels locally, nationally and internationally.

Research Committee Recruitment

The CEWIL Canada Research committee is comprised of CEWIL members from across Canada who have a strong interest in advancing co-operative education and work-integrated learning research.

Current and future initiatives include:

Support CEWIL Board of Directors, Committees and Members

  • Provide research-related support to the Board, committees and members in the fulfillment of CEWIL Canada’s strategic plan

CEWIL Research Grant and Award

  • Promote awareness and encourage applicants for the award, fairly evaluate entries, encourage and share research results 

Research Committee Web Presence

  • Maintain the CEWIL Research web pages to share relevant co-operative education and work-integrated learning research and links to partner association research resources
  • Promote mission and membership of the Research Committee
  • Promote the Research Grant and the Dr. Graham Branton Award

CEWIL Research Committee Liaisons

  • Ensure updates from, and where appropriate coordinate with, the WACE International Research Group, the BC Association of Co-operative Education Research Committee, and the CEWIL Atlantic Research Committee

CEWIL Research Promotion and Partnerships

  • Establish a monthly CEWIL Research Matters newsletter that provides perspectives of CEWIL members on relevant research articles
  • Work towards a research-stream at the 2020 conference with a full-day research workshop and a special Canadian issue of the International Journal of Work-Integrated Learning (IJWIL)

Members meet once a month by phone throughout most of the academic year, with additional meetings scheduled in April for Research Grant Award decisions.  Interested persons must be CEWIL members, and can be considered for committee membership by sending a paragraph of interest to the Research Committee Chair.

Research Committee Members

  • Chair: Judene Pretti, University of Waterloo
  • Board Representative: Norah McRae, University of Waterloo
  • Earl Anderson, British Columbia Institute of Technology
  • Christine Arsenault, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Rachel Braun, University of Calgary
  • Dana Church, University of Waterloo
  • Stefanie Corona, Concordia University
  • Shabnam Surjitsingh Ivkovic, University of Waterloo
  • Nancy Johnson, Emeritus Member, WACE
  • Patricia Orozco, Laurentian University
  • Andrea Sator, Simon Fraser University
  • Heather Skanes, Memorial University
  • Ashley Stirling, University of Toronto