English | Français
Join CAFCE Today

Co-op Program Directory

The Co-operative Education Directory is a comprehensive listing of the post-secondary co-operative education programs of member institutions in Canada.



Council's Mission, Goals and Members

In 1979 Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning Canada (CEWIL Canada), formerly known as  CAFCE, established the Accreditation Council. Council members from across Canada articulate and review accreditation criteria for effective co-operative education programs as the needs of students, employers and institutions evolve.

Chair: , Simon Fraser University


The Accreditation Council of CEWIL Canada provides leadership for the development of quality co-operative education programs.


  • Establish and maintain rules and procedures for the conduct of Accreditation Council business
  • Establish standards according to which co-operative education programs will be accredited by CEWIL Canada
  • Review the standards according to which co-operative education programs will be accredited by CEWIL Canada and amend those standards as appropriate
  • Receive and respond to suggestions and queries regarding appropriate standards for accreditation as provided by the membership
  • Establish guidelines, documentation and procedures by which co-operative education programs shall be evaluated
  • Evaluate co-operative education programs presented to the Accreditation Council and award accreditation or withhold accreditation in accordance with the established standards
  • Establish a period of accreditation
  • Establish an appeal procedure
  • Recommend to the CEWIL Canada Board an appropriate fee structure for the evaluation of programs such that the review and assessment procedure is self-supporting. All fees shall be paid to CEWIL Canada
  • Appoint review teams to conduct the review of co-operative education programs brought forward for accreditation, in accordance with the established guidelines and procedures. Teams shall be comprised of three (3) voting members of CEWIL Canada, one (1) of whom must be voting member of the Accreditation Council
  • Survey CEWIL Canada members about co-op practice, as appropriate
  • Maintain and update material for publications and the CEWIL Canada website such as Accreditation Standards and Rationale and Accreditation FAQ


  • An institution seeking accreditation must have at least one employee who is a current member of CEWIL Canada; institutions with de-centralized programs must have at least one member for each de-centralized unit
  • Each institution with accredited programs is invited to appoint a representative to become a member of the Accreditation Council. Institutions with de-centralized programs are requested to establish an institutional representative from among those with accredited programs
  • A letter is sent to the president, CEO or CEWIL Canada Board chairperson who signed the application for accreditation, copied to the co-op contact person of the institution announcing their application results, and requesting a council representative for the six-year accreditation period if one is not already identified in the application or in the case of a re-accreditation, already a member of the council
  • Prior to the Annual General Meeting, a letter is sent to the CEWIL Canada Board requesting the names of CEWIL Canada Board appointee(s) for a two-year period 

Council Members:

  • Camosun College: 
  • Conestoga College: 
  • Dalhousie University: 
  • École de technologie supérieure:
  • McMaster University: Vicki Lowes
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland: Geoff Smith
  • Mount Saint Vincent University: 
  • North Island College: Anita Budisa-Bonneau
  • The Nova Scotia Community College: TBD
  • Redeemer University College: Bruce Wilson
  • Saskatchewan Polytechnic: 
  • Simon Fraser University:
  • St. Francis Xavier University:
  • Université de Moncton: 
  • Université de Sherbrooke:
  • Université Laval:
  • University of Alberta:
  • University of British Columbia, 
  • University of Guelph: Colleen Myronyk 
  • University of Lethbridge: Jasminn Berteotti
  • University of Manitoba:
  • University of New Brunswick Saint John:
  • University of Ottawa:
  • University of Prince Edward Island: Megan MacLean
  • University of Regina: 
  • University of Toronto (Scarborough): 
  • University of Victoria: 
  • University of Waterloo: 
  • University of Windsor: 
  • Wilfrid Laurier University:
  • Langara College: Heather Workman

Past Chairs:

  • 2014/16: Karen Reimer, University of Guelph
  • 2012/14 : Rocco Fondacaro, University of Waterloo
  • 2010/12 : Karen McCargar, Wilfred Laurier University
  • 2008/10 : Jenny Reilly, University of British Columbia
  • 2006/08 : JoAnne Akerboom, Dalhousie University
  • 2004/06 : Carmen Poulin, Univerity of Ottawa/Université d'Ottawa
  • 2002/04 : Joanne Thomas, University of Victoria
  • 2000/02 : Karen McCargar, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • 1998/00 : Bruce Lumsden, University of Waterloo
  • 1996/98 : Karen McCargar, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • 1995/96 : Pamela Racher, Mount Royal College
  • 1993/95 : Doreen Godwin, Simon Fraser University
  • 1992/93 : Gilles Joncas, Université de Sherbrooke
  • 1991/92 : Gordon Lancaster, Fanshawe College of Applied Arts & Technology
  • 1990/92 : Randy Klawitter, University of Waterloo
  • 1988/90 : Lynne Crouch, Georgian College fo Applied Arts and Technology
  • 1986/88 : William Holbrow, University of Regina